PM Narendra Modi had announced the decision to repeal these laws in an address to the nation

Legislation aimed at repealing the three farm laws has been approved by the Union Cabinet which met on Wednesday.

The process for withdrawing the Bills which were earlier cleared by the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha will be completed in the Winter Session of Parliament which begins next week, Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Anurag Thakur said after the cabinet meeting.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had announced the government's decision to repeal these laws in an address to the nation last Friday.

The decision followed long-drawn protests from groups of farmers from several states who were camping on Delhi's borders.

“Today I have come to tell you, the whole country, that we have decided to withdraw all three agricultural laws. In the Parliament session starting later this month, we will complete the constitutional process to repeal these three agricultural laws,” Prime Minister Modi has said in his address.

Prime Minister Modi had also appealed to the farmers to call off their agitation and return home.

The three laws which will be repealed are:

* The Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement of Price Assurance and Farm Services Act

* The Farmers Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Act

* The Essential Commodities (Amendment) Act 2020