Counting of votes will be taken up on November 2

The Election Commission of India has announced bye-elections to fill vacancies in three Parliamentary Constituencies and 30 Assembly Constituencies in different states on October 30.

Bye-elections will be held in one Parliamentary (Lok Sabha) constituency
each in the Union Territory of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu (Dadra & Nagar Haveli seat), Madhya Pradesh (Khandwa seat) and Himachal Pradesh (Mandi seat).

The 30 Assembly Constituencies where bye-elections will be held are spread across 14 states:

* Five seats in Assam

* Four seats in West Bengal

* Three seats each in Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya

* Two seats each in Bihar, Rajasthan, Karnataka

* One seat each in Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Haryana, Maharashtra, Mizoram, Nagaland

Counting of votes for all the Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies will be taken up on November 2.

The Model code of conduct shall come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the Assembly constituency going for election is included, the ECI said.

Strict Covid-19 related protocols prescribed by the ECI in line with the central government's guidelines will be in place during the poll process, including the campaign period.

The Commission said it had reviewed the situation related to pandemic, flood, festivals, cold conditions in certain regions, feedback from concerned States/UT and taken into consideration all facts and circumstances before finalizing the schedule.

The Election Commission also said it had decided to use EVMs and VVPATs in the bye-election in all the polling stations.

Adequate numbers of EVMs and VVPATs have been made available and all steps have been taken to ensure that the polls are conducted smoothly with the help of these machines, it added.