Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanked the people of Assam after the victory

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has retained power in Assam for a second consecutive term, winning 75 of the 126 Assembly seats in the NorthEastern state.

The Congress and its allies won 50 seats after counting of votes was taken up on Sunday.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who was the BJP's star campaigner, thanked the people of Assam after the win. He also appreciated the hard work out in by party workers.

"The people of Assam have again blessed the NDA’s development agenda and the pro-people track record of our Government in the state. I thank the people of Assam for the blessings. I appreciate the hard work of NDA Karyakartas and their untiring efforts in serving the people," PM Modi said in a tweet.

In the run-up to the Assam Assembly polls, the BJP had tied up with the Asom Gana Parishad and the UPPL (United People's Party Liberal).

The party's star campaigners included Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

The Congress had exuded confidence about posting a comfortable victory after polling was held in three phases on March 27, April 1, and April 6.

Multiple exit polls had, however, predicted a clear win for the the BJP-led alliance.