As on day-78 of the vaccination drive (3rd April, 2021), 27,38,972 vaccine doses were given

India’s vaccination drive crossed 7.5 crore doses, while the second dose numbers crossed 1 crore mark, the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare said in its report on Sunday.

Giving details about the vaccination drive, the Ministry said over 7 crore doses were administrated through 11,99, 125 sessions and these include: 89,82,974 health care workers (1st dose), 53,19,641 health care workers (2nd dose), 96,86,477 front line workers (1st dose) and 40,97,510 front line workers (2nd Dose) and 4,70,70,019 (1st Dose) and 8,23,030 (2nd dose) beneficiaries aged more than 45 years.

Till April 3, 2021, as per the Ministry, 27,38,972 vaccine doses were given. Out of which, 24,80,031 beneficiaries were vaccinated for 1st dose and 2,58,941beneficiaries received their 2nd dose of vaccine.

Over 60 percent of the cumulative doses were administered in eight eights and of this, Maharashtra alone accounted for 9.68 per cent of the total doses given in India.

On the other hand, 93,249 new daily COVID cases were registered in the last 24 hours. 80.96% of these new cases are from eight States- Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat.

Maharashtra has reported the highest daily new cases at 49,447. This is followed byChhattisgarh with 5,818 cases while Karnataka reported 4,373 new cases.

India’s total Active Caseload has reached 6,91,597. It now comprises 5.54% of the country's total Positive Cases. A net incline of 32,688 cases recorded from the total active caseload in the last 24 hours.

Five states, namely Maharashtra, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, Keralaand Punjab cumulatively account for 76.41% of the total active cases in the country. Maharashtra alone accounts for more than half (58.19%) of the total active caseload of the country.

Fourteen States/UTs have not reported any COVID- 19 deaths in the last 24 hours. These are Odisha, Assam, Puducherry, Ladakh (UT), D&D & D&N, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Manipur, Tripura, Sikkim,Lakshadweep, Mizoram, A&N Islands and Arunachal Pradesh.