The first phase of the vaccination drive started on January 16, covering healthcare and frontline workers across the country

The second phase of coronavirus vaccination will begin from March 1, covering people over 60 years of age and those above the age of 45 years with comorbidities.

They will be given the COVID-19 vaccine free-of-cost at 10,000 government hospitals, Union Minister Prakash Javadekar announced after a meeting of the Union Cabinet on Wednesday.

Addressing a press conference, Javedekar said that the candidates can also get the vaccine shot from over 20,000 private inoculation centres across the country.

“Those who want to get vaccinated from private hospitals will have to pay. The amount they would need to pay will be decided by the health ministry within 3-4 days as they are in discussion with manufacturers and hospitals,” he said.


The first phase of the vaccination drive started on January 16. More than 65.2 lakh healthcare and frontline workers received coronavirus vaccine shots in the first phase of vaccination drive.

According to the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, the vaccination coverage was 1,21,65,598 through 2,54,356 sessions, as per the provisional report till 7 am. These include 64,98,300 HCWs (1st dose), 13,98,400 HCWs (2nd dose) and 42,68,898 FLWs (1st dose).

The 2nd dose of COVID19 vaccination started on 13th February, 2021 for those beneficiaries who have completed 28 days after receipt of the 1st dose. Vaccination of the FLWs started on 2nd Feb 2021.

On Day-39 of the vaccination drive (23rdFebruary, 2021), 4,20,046 vaccine doses were given. Out of which, 2,79,823 beneficiaries were vaccinated across 9,479 sessions for 1st dose (HCWs and FLWs) and 1,40,223 HCWs received 2nd dose of vaccine.

Out of total 1,21,65,598 vaccine doses, 1,07,67,198 (HCWs and FLWs) have received 1st dose of vaccine and total 13,98,400 HCWs have received the 2nd dose of vaccine.

As coronavirus cases in India are on an upward trend again, the Centre rushed three-member multi-disciplinary teams to at least 10 states and union territories that have shown a sudden surge of the deadly viral disease. The decision comes in view of the emergence of the new strains of COVID-19 in the country, forcing states to impose stricter restrictions and lockdown rules.