The commission has mandated the use of face masks, thermal scanners and sanitizers for all election related activity

Biennial elections to 11 Rajya Sabha seats from Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand will be held on November 11. The term of 10 members from UP and one from Uttarakhand ends on November 25, the Election Commission of India said in a statement on Tuesday.

To ensure compliance with COVID-19 protocols that are in place, the commission has mandated the use of masks by all people during every election related activity.

Thermal scanners will be provided at the entry of all halls, rooms, and premises to be used during the elections. Sanitizers will also be made available at all locations. Social distancing shall be maintained in keeping with the COVID-19 guidelines of the state governments and the Ministry of Home Affairs.

The commission said it had appointed the Chief Electoral Officers concerned as Observer of the election in the respective states.

The Chief Secretaries of all states going to polls have been directed to depute a senior officer to ensure that all the instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the elections.

The Election Commission has, meanwhile, made all arrangements for elections to 243 seats in the Bihar Assembly. Polls will be held in three phases, on October 28, November 3 and November 7. The results for what will be India's biggest election exercise amid the COVID-19 pandemic are scheduled to be declared on November 10.

The poll body has also announced by-elections to 56 assembly seats across 11 states on November 3. This includes polling for 28 seats in Madhya Pradesh. In addition to this, by-elections to three assembly seats in Manpur will be held on November 7.