For the first time, the chairpersons of the Block Development Councils (BDS) will take salutes at the Republic Day functions at Block Development Offices (BDOs)

Chairpersons of 307 blocks were elected in J&K in October last year. Of these, 81 were won by the BJP, one by the Congress, eight by the J&K Panthers Party and 217 by independents.
"I am directed to convey that the chairperson of BDCs shall take a salute at their respective block headquarters on the Republic Day," Deputy Secretary G L Sharma said on Friday in a directive to divisional commissioners of Jammu and Kashmir regions.
This is for the first time that BDC chairpersons will be taking the salute at the official republic functions at 307 blocks across the UT, officials said.