School students of Jammu and Kashmir will have to study 'Jammu & Kashmir Reorganisation Act 2019' by virtue of which the erstwhile state was bifurcated into two Union Territories (UTs)

The Board of School Education has introduced an addendum about the constitutional changes effected by the Parliament on August 5, 2019 in the newly-printed textbook of social science for class 10th and 7th.

The News Now reported that the BOSE has introduced governance and administrative framework of UTs in the academics at a time when BJP-led Central government has repeatedly asserted that they will restore J&K’s statehood.

The abrogation of Article 370 and Article 35A finds mention in the addendum titled “Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act-2019” in social science textbook of class 10th.

The addendum’s introductory lines state that abrogation of Article 370 ended special rights and privileges of J&K’s permanent residents with regard to property and jobs.

“On the basis of a resolution passed in both houses of the Parliament, the President issued an order on 6th of August declaring that all the clauses of Article 370 except clause (1) to be in operative and thus effectively ending special rights and privileges upon permanent residents, to the exclusion of other citizens of India , more specifically with regard to the acquisition of immoveable property and appointment to services,” it states. The addendum also throws light on J&K’s historical background, instrument of accession and Parliament’s restricted powers to legislate on matters of the erstwhile State.

“Article 370 was incorporated in the Constitution of India under IOA( Instrument of Accession) and gave special powers to J&K conferring it with certain powers like separate constitution, separate flag, autonomy over the internal administration of the State and Article 238 of Indian Constitution was not applicable to the State of Jammu and Kashmir whereas it was applicable to all other states of India,” it reads.

The book also talks about Article 35A and its incorporation in the Constitution of India through Presidential Order of 1954.

“Article 35-A of the Indian Constitution was an Article that empowered the J&K State legislature to define the status of permanent residents of J&K. The constitutional safeguards provided under Article 35A were in continuance of the special privileges granted to the residents of Jammu and Kashmir Under hereditary state subject order of 1927 passed by Maharja Hari Singh,” the textbook states.

As per the addendum, J&K was placed under direct control and supervision of Central government by the Parliament.

“By virtue of J&K Re-Organisation Act, Parliament of India placed J&K State under the direct control of Central government after splitting it into two Union Territories : Union Territory of J&K and Union Territory of Ladakh,” the addendum states.

It also provides information about provisions of J&K Re-organisation Act like formation of UTs , strength of Legislative Assembly and council of ministers in J&K UT, abolition of Legislative Council, application of central laws and common High Court for newly created territories .

The textbooks also contain details about representation of J&K UT and Ladakh UT in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

The photographs of Lieutenant Governor of J&K Girish Chandra Murmu and LG of Ladakh, Radha Krishna Mathur also appear on page 114 of textbook of social science for class 7th .The photos of the LGs appear in the chapter titled “structures of governance in J&K”.

The chapter begins with lines that “Republic of India has 28 states and nine Union Territories”.

“The constitution of India states that India is a union of states. The Union and the States have their own governments. However, the Union Territories are directly placed under control and supervision of the Central government,” reads the textbook.

The formation of J&K and Ladakh UTs, Union territory administration and UT secretariat also finds mention in the chapter of the textbook.

The activities prescribed for students in the chapter are to collect information about all LGs of UTs in India and names of deputy commissioners of J&K UT.