The validation phase of the exercise was witnessed by all Chiefs of the General Staff of the SCO member states

The 6th edition of exercise Peaceful Mission: 2021 of SCO member states hosted by Russia culminated in the country's south-western Orenburg Region on Friday.

SCO member nations conducted joint training focusing on combating terrorism in this joint multinational exercise which began on September 14.

All military contingents took part in the final joint exercise wherein multinational forces exhibited their tactical prowess, combat power and overwhelming dominance over terrorist groups, informed a statement by the Ministry of Defence.

The validation phase of the exercise was witnessed by all Chiefs’ of the General Staff of the SCO member states.

India's Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) General Bipin Rawat who was on a visit to Russia witnessed the validation exercise on Thursday.

He expressed great satisfaction on the high standards of synergy and close ties achieved among member states during the exercise, the defence ministry's statement noted.

The 12-day joint training involving Armed Forces of all Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) member states. It was organised with an aim to foster close relations between SCO member states and to enhance abilities of the military leaders to command multinational military contingents.

The multilateral exercise is conducted biennially as part of military diplomacy between SCO member states.

The Indian military contingent comprising an all-arms combined force of 200 personnel also included 38 personnel from the Indian Air Force.

The scope of the exercise included professional interaction, mutual understanding of drills & procedures, establishment of joint command & control structures and elimination of terrorist threats.

The SCO grouping formed in 2003 has 8 member states - Russia, China, India, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, and Kyrgyzstan.

Mongolia, Belarus, Afghanistan, and Iran are observer countries. Armenia, Azerbaijan, Turkey, Cambodia, Nepal, and Sri Lanka are dialogue partners.