India and 13 others abstained from voting on the resolution to set up a commission of inquiry into alleged violations of human rights in occupied Palestine territory

India on Thursday abstained from Pakistan-backed resolution at the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) to set up a commission of inquiry into human rights violation in occupied Palestinian territory including East Jerusalem and Israel.

India’s Permanent Representative at the UN in Geneva, Indra Mani Pandey took to twitter to announce New Delhi’s abstention together with 13 other members of the UNHRC. The resolution was adopted with 24 members voting in favour and 9 against it.

“India abstains together with 13 other members of the Human Rights Council on the resolution proposing to set up a Commission of Inquiry! With 24 members voting in favour and 9 against, the resolution is adopted,” Pandey said in his twitter post.

The resolution S-30, ensuring respect for international humanitarian law and international human rights law submitted by Pakistan on behalf of Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) to the UNHCR, adopted calls for establishing an independent international commission of inquiry.

The commission of enquiry to be set up by the UNHRC President will investigate in the Occupied Palestinian Territory, including East Jerusalem and in Israel, all alleged violations of international humanitarian law and all alleged violations and abuses of international human rights law leading up to and since April 13, 2021.

It also seeks to find all underlying root causes of recurrent tensions, instability and protraction of conflict, including systematic discrimination and repression based on national, ethnic, racial or religious identity.

Amongst the 24 countries who voted in favour of the resolution included China, Argentina, Bangladesh, Bahrain, Indonesia, Mexico, Namibia, Bolivia, Russia, Philippines and Venezuela.

The 9 nations that voted against the resolution included Austria, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Czech Republic, Germany, Malawi, Marshall Islands, United Kingdom and Uruguay.

The 13 other countries that abstained from voting alongside India included Brazil, Denmark, France, Italy, Japan, Nepal, Republic of Korea, Netherlands, Fiji, Bahamas, Poland, Togo, Ukraine.