India has committed US$ 50 million for reconstruction of total 71 educational institutions in 8 districts of Nepal

Exhibiting India’s strong commitment to the development partnership with Nepal, senior officials of the two countries on Wednesday jointly carried out the ground breaking for the reconstruction of a school in Kathmandu. This will be the 66th school to be reconstructed in Nepal through India’s grant assistance.

Ground breaking for reconstruction of the Shree Champa Devi Secondary School at Dakshinkali Municipality in Kathmandu was carried out jointly by CEO National Reconstruction Authority (NRA) of Nepal Sushil Gyawali and Indian Embassy’s Head of Press, Information and Culture Wing Naveen Kumar, a statement by the Indian Embassy in Kathmandu said.

India has committed US$ 50 million for the reconstruction of 71 educational institutions in 8 districts of Nepal. India has also committed a grant of another 200 million for reconstruction projects in the health, cultural heritage and housing sectors.

According to the statement, the Indian Embassy in Kathmandu is also working with NRA for starting work on 147 health facilities and restoration of 28 cultural heritage sites in total 11 districts of Nepal affected by the earthquake of 2015.

Champa Devi Secondary School is being reconstructed at a cost of NRs 68.5 million and will be built as per earthquake-resilient reconstruction norms of the Government of Nepal.

The new infrastructure will include two blocks each having 13 classrooms, practical rooms, administrative room, library and separate sanitation facilities for boys and girls in each floor, the Indian Embassy statement explained.

The Central Building Research Institute (CBRI), Roorkee, a premier institute in India in the field earthquake-resilient reconstruction, will provide technical hand-holding for construction of these schools.

Earlier, on 18 February, reconstruction of another school in Nepal, the Kanti Bhairav Secondary School in Kangeshwari Municipality, was undertaken in presence of Indian and Nepali officials.