The two sides sides discussed a wide range of issues on the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) agenda

The Indian delegation led by Prakash Gupta, Joint Secretary (UNP & Summits) in the Ministry of External Affairs briefed the Chinese delegation led by Yang Tao, Director General of the Department of International Organisations and Conferences in China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs on India’s priorities during its UNSC tenure.

According to the MEA, both sides agreed to continue their engagement on key issues on the UNSC agenda. From this January, India alongside four countries like Mexico, Norway, Ireland and Kenya joined as non-permanent members to the UNSC where five countries United States, Russia, China, France and Britain hold permanent seats.

Earlier, beginning its two-year tenure at the UNSC as a non-permanent member from January 1, 2021, India’s Permanent Representative to the UN, TS Tirumurti said India will be a voice for the developing world and will not shy away from raising its voice against the common enemies of humanity like terrorism and will use its tenure at the elite-UN body to bring human-centric and inclusive solutions to matters of international peace and justice.

This is the eighth time that India has been elected a non-permanent member of the UNSC. Previously, it has been elected as a member for the period of 1950-51, 1967-68, 1972-73, 1977-78, 1984-85, 1991-92 and 2011-12.