In a first, a 122-member tri-services contingent from Bangladesh will be part of the Republic Day Parade

A display of India’s military prowess, participation by a contingent from Bangladesh and a Vertical Charlie by one of the newly-acquired Rafale fighters will be among the high points of this year’s Republic Day Parade along New Delhi’s Rajpath on Tuesday.

One of the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) contingent tableaux will depict the Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) - Navy taking off from INS Vikramaditya, the Ministry of Defence said in a statement giving details of the Republic Day Parade programme. The DRDO will also showcase Anti-Tank Guided Missile systems.

The Indian Army will display Main Battle Tank T-90 Bhishma, Infantry Combat Vehicle Ballway Machine Pikate (BMP-II) – Sarath, Mobile Autonomous Launcher of the Brahmos Missile system, Pinaka Multi Launcher Rocket System and Samvijay Electronic Warfare System among others.

The Indian Navy will have tableaux murals depicting the Pakistan Army surrendering in 1971, in addition to a Petya class ship and Operation X undertaken by divers of Indian Navy and Mukti Bahini and some other ships which took part in the 1971 India-Pakistan War.

The Indian Air Force (IAF) will showcase the Mi-17 V5, Chinook and Apache helicopters, in addition to scaled down models of the Light Combat Aircraft, Light Combat Helicopter, Su-30 MK-I aircraft and the Rohini radar system.

Thirty-two tableaux from States & Union Territories, various Ministries/Departments and paramilitary Forces will roll down the Rajpath during the event, showcasing the country’s cultural diversity, social and economic progress will also be on display through tableaux by different states and Union Territories.

Bangladesh Armed Forces contingent to be part of parade

In a first, a 122-member contingent of the Bangladesh Armed Forces comprising soldiers of the Bangladesh Army, sailors of the Bangladesh Navy and Air Warriors of the Bangladesh Air Force will lead the contingent march on the Rajpath.

They will carry the legacy of legendary Muktijoddhas of Bangladesh, who fought against oppression and mass atrocities and liberated Bangladesh in 1971, the defence ministry said.

The event will culminate with Rafale aircraft flying at a speed of 900 kilometres per hour carrying out a ‘Vertical Charlie’.

The ceremony will commence with Prime Minister Narendra Modi visiting the National War Memorial to pay tributes to the fallen heroes by laying a wreath.

The National Flag will be unfurled followed by the National Anthem with a 21-gun salute before the parade commences with President Ram Nath Kovind taking the salute.

The parade will include the winners of the nation’s highest gallantry awards, the Param Vir Chakra and the Ashok Chakra.

Param Vir Chakra winners Subedar Major Yogendra Singh Yadav, 18 Grenadiers and Subedar Sanjay Kumar, 13 JAK Rifles and Ashok Chakra winner Lieutenant Colonel D Sreeram Kumar will follow the Deputy Parade Commander on Jeeps.

The parade will also see marching contingents from the Indian Coast Guard, Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), Delhi Police, Border Security Force (BSF) Camel Contingent, and National Security Guard (NSG), popularly known as the Black Cat Commandos.

The National Cadet Corps (NCC) Boys marching contingent and the National Service Scheme (NSS) contingent will also participate.

Exciting Fly Past to be the grand finale

According to the official programme, the grand finale and the most keenly awaited segment of the parade, the Fly Past, will consist of the Rudra Formation comprising a Dakota aircraft flanked by two Mi-17 IV helicopters flying in ‘Vic’ formation, followed by the Sudarshan formation consisting of one Chinook and two Mi-17 IV Helicopters in ‘Vic’ formation.

The Rakshak attack helicopter formation consisting of one Mi-35 helicopter and four Apache helicopters in ‘Vic’ formation will come next. Bhim formation comprising three C-130J aircraft in ‘Vic’ formation will then rule the sky. Behind Bhim formation will be Netra, the ‘Eye in the Sky’. It is an indigenous Airborne Early Warning and Control aircraft with state of art Early Warning radar and a host of advanced Electronic Warfare equipment, all indigenously designed and developed by DRDO.

It will be followed by Garuda formation consisting of one C-17 Globemaster with two MiG-29s & two Su-30 MKI aircraft in ‘Vic’ formation. The C-17 is a heavy lift; long range strategic airlift aircraft. Induction of C-17 aircraft has changed the dynamics of strategic mobility and reach of the Air Force.

The next formation will be one of the awaited attractions of the event, one Rafale with two Jaguar deep penetration strike aircraft and two MiG-29 Air Superiority Fighters in ‘Vic’ formation at the height of 300 metre and a speed of 780 kilometre per hour.

It will be followed by the Trinetra formation comprising three Su-30MKIs and the penultimate formation will be Vijay comprising three Advance Light Helicopters which are part of the acclaimed Sarang Display Team of the IAF.

The penultimate culmination of the parade will be a single Rafale aircraft flying at a speed of 900 kilometre per hour carrying out a ‘Vertical Charlie’, the Ministry of Defence said.